Ralph J. Nappi, CAE, president of the American Machine Tool Distributors' Association, Rockville, Md., has been named as the 2004-2005 chairman of the 30-member board of directors for the new Center for Association Leadership. David J. Noonan, deputy executive vice president of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, San Francisco, will assume the role of chairman in 2005-06. Also joining the leadership team is Peter Moran, executive vice president & CEO of the Society of American Florists, who will be secretary/treasurer of the board, and Richard B. Green, vice president of industry relations and association sales for Marriott International, who will serve on the executive committee of the Center’s board.

The board will serve a two-year transition term that came about after the recent merger of The Center, the Greater Washington Society of Association Executives, ASAE, and the ASAE Foundation. ASAE and the ASAE Foundation appointed Noonan, who was chairman-elect of the ASAE Foundation, and half of the board; The Center named Nappi, who was chairman-elect of GWSAE, and the other half of the board.

The full Board member roster:

Ralph J. Nappi, CAE (Chairman)
American Machine Tool Distributors' Association

David J. Noonan (Chairman Elect)
Deputy Executive Vice President
American Academy of Ophthalmology

Peter J. Moran (Secretary/Treasurer)
Executive Vice President & CEO
Society of American Florists

Richard B. Green, CASE
(Executive Committee Member)
Vice President Industry Relations and Association Sales
Marriott International, Inc.

Carla K. Balakgie, CAE
Executive Director
Electronic Transactions Association

Gregory Balestrero
Chief Executive Officer
Project Management Institute

Catherine A. Brown, CAE
Executive Director
Children Affected by AIDS Foundation

Henry H. Chamberlain, CAE, APR
President & COO
Building Owners & Managers Association International

Peter L. Colaianni, CAE
Executive Vice President
Document Management Industries Association

Erin Fuller, CAE
Executive Director
National Association of Women Business Owners

Michael E. Gallery, PhD, CAE
Deputy Executive Director
American College of Physicians - National Office

Mark J. Golden, CAE
Executive Director & CEO
National Court Reporters Association

Anetha Grant
Senior Vice President, Convention Sales & Marketing
Nashville Convention and Visitors Bureau

John M. Grau
Chief Executive Officer
National Electrical Contractors Association

Tyson W. Helms
Senior Vice President of Sales
Hyatt Hotels Corporation

Joseph C. Isaacs, CAE
President & CEO

Liz Jackson
Vice President
Association Management Group/Meetings Management Group

Wells B. Jones, CAE
Chief Executive Officer
Guide Dog Foundation for the Blind

Paulette V. Maehara, CFRE, CAE
President and Chief Executive Officer
Association of Fundraising Professionals

William P. Morrison
Vice Chairman
MBNA America

Louis B. Novick
The Novick Group, Inc.

Paul Pomerantz
Executive Director
American Society of Plastic Surgeons

Mary Power
President & CEO
Convention Industry Council

Michele S. Ross
Senior Vice President
Wachovia Bank

Vincent R. Sandusky
Finishing Contractors Association

Pamela J. Schmidt
Executive Director
ISA - The Association of Learning Providers

Robert A. Strade
President & CEO
World President's Organization

Melvin Tennant, CAE
President and CEO
San Antonio Convention and Visitors Bureau

Gwen Thomas
Manager, Delta Meeting Network Marketing
Delta Air Lines, Atlanta Office

Susan B. Waters, CAE
Chief Executive Officer
California Society of Certified Public Accountants

Susan Sarfati, CAE (Ex-Officio)
President & CEO
The Center for Association Leadership & Executive Vice President, American Society of Association Executives

John H. Graham IV, CAE (Ex-Officio)
President & CEO
American Society of Association Executives

Jeffrey S. Tenebaum Esq., partner with Venable LLP, will serve as general counsel to The Center Board.