Baseball has its Hall of Fame. Writers have the Pulitzer Prize. And the hospitality industry has the Hall of Leaders. Launched 18 years ago by the Convention Industry Council, the honor is given to individuals who have demonstrated extraordinary leadership and innovation in the meetings, conventions, and exhibition industry. CIC recently announced six new inductees. They are (left to right from top in photos below): George Aguel, senior vice president, Walt Disney Parks & Resorts; Roger Dow, senior vice president, Marriott International Inc.; Joan Eisenstodt, president, Eisenstodt Associates LLC; Bruce Harris, president, Conferon Global Services; Jim Jones, president, James E. Jones Associates; and Peter Nathan, president, PWN Exhibicon International LLC.

The recipients were cited for their innovation, commitment, energy, mentoring, and impact on meetings, conventions, and exhibitions, says Mary Power, president of CIC.They will join 80 others inductees, who have been honored at the Hall of Leaders display in the Washington D.C. Convention Center.

The six individuals will be officially initiated at the 2004 Hall of Leaders Gala, which will be held on July 26 in Denver as part of the Meeting Professionals International's Education Congress.

Nominations were submitted by CIC member organizations or the general industry community. A 12-person selection committee met in October to review nominations and to recommend inductees. The CIC Council of Delegates then approved the slate.

Congratulations to all!