This year’s Changemakers, our annual list of the top meeting and event planners for 2014, are not afraid to question existing norms and to forge a new path. They are always challenging themselves and others around them to think differently. They are the innovators, educators, mentors, and leaders of the meetings industry.

And the winners are:

Sekeno Aldred, MTA, CMP
Event Manager
Goodwill Industries International

Ada M. Allende
Director, Strategic Projects and Events
CoreNet Global

Scott Beck
President and CEO
Visit Salt Lake

Lisa Block
Vice President, Meetings and Conferences
Society for Human Resource Management

Michael Dominguez, CHSE
SVP, Corporate Hotel Sales
MGM Resorts

Michelle Guelbart, MSW
Director of Private Sector Engagement

Dale Hudson
Knowledge and Events Director
IMEX Group

Jeff Hurt
EVP, Education and Engagement
Velvet Chainsaw Consulting

Lawrence Leonard
COO and APEX Director
Convention Industry Council
MaryAnne Bobrow, CAE, CMP, CMM, CHE
Bobrow Associates Inc.


Michael Mahoney
Director, Meeting and Convention Services

Sandy Monkemeyer
SVP, Corporate Travel Director
Captive Resources

Melissa Nahama, SMMC
Director, Business Development and
NA Program Management
CWT Meetings & Events

Kirsten Olean
Director of Meetings
Association of American Medical Colleges

Ray Pekowski, Owner
Randy Pekowski, VP and COO

The Expo Group
JR Sherman

Michelle M. Smith, CPIM, CRP
VP, Business Development
O.C. Tanner

Janiece Sneegas
Director of General Assembly and
Conference Services
Unitarian Universalist Association

Denise Truso, CCTE, GTP
Director, Global Travel
St. Jude Medical Inc.

Greg Van Dyke
SVP, Global Sales and Marketing

Maarten Vanneste, CMM
President and CEO
ABBIT Meeting Innovators
Meeting Design Institute


Joan Eisenstodt
Consultant, Facilitator, and Trainer,
Eisenstodt Associates LLC