The Accreditation Council for continuing medical education recently announced that CME providers outside the United States can apply for accreditation through the same process used by U.S. providers. It made this possible by removing language from a 1981 policy that made ACCME accreditation available only to U.S. providers. According to a summary of a recent ACCME board of directors meeting, in the past three years the ACCME has responded to more than 50 requests from international organizations interested in applying for ACCME accreditation.

Related: ACCME's Proposed New Accreditation with Commendation Criteria

In another beyond-borders move, ACCME has designated the Oman Medical Specialty Board, a part of the Ministry of Health of the Sultanate of Oman, as an accreditor that is “substantially equivalent” to the ACCME. The OMSB/MOH is the first non–North American accreditor to receive this status. The designation, which required OMSB/MOH to complete an eligibility review process and a robust evaluation process, is good through 2018. Only two other non-U.S. accreditation systems have received this designation: the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada and the Association of Faculties of Medicine of Canada Committee on Accreditation of Continuing Medical Education.

Other ACCME news:

• At it's July meeting, the board ratified 59 accreditation and reaccreditation decisions: 11 providers received accreditation with commendation; 30 received accreditation (13 of these will have to submit progress reports); 11 were placed on probation; five received provisional accreditation; and one was downgraded from provisional to nonaccredited status. Of the five providers who applied for Joint Accreditation for Interprofessional Education, two received a six-year term, one received a four-year term.

• The feedback to the proposed changes to the Accreditation with Commendation criteria—some 250 responses—was generally positive, with 75 percent of providers saying the proposed menu of new criteria would make the highest accreditation feasible for them.

• The board met with the search company to discussion succession planning for ACCME president Murray Kopelow, MD, who will retire in July 2015. Here is the CEO position announcement, which the ACCME is now circulating to the CME and stakeholder communities.

• ACCME also announced the recipients of the 2014 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award, given to state medical societies, their staffs, and volunteers for “contributions and commitment to advancing community-based CME programs and the intrastate accreditation system.”

Ronald Johnson, MD, received the 2014 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award for Individual Service to the Intrastate Accreditaiton System.

• The Medical Association of the State of Alabama received the 2014 Rutledge W. Howard, MD, Award for Outstanding Collaboration between Accreditors and Providers.