The languages of the Caribbean are as varied as the heritage of this vast area. Spanish is spoken in the Dominican Republic and Puerto Rico; French in St. Martin, Martinique, and Guadeloupe; Dutch in St. Maarten, Aruba, Bonaire, and Curacao. Papiamento, a cocktail of languages including Spanish, Portuguese, Dutch, English, and African dialects, is also spoken on Aruba, Bonaire, and Curacao. However, groups will find that English is spoken at the resort areas throughout most of the Caribbean.

Visas are not required of Americans traveling to the Caribbean, Bermuda, or the Bahamas. Visitors will need proof of identity: a current passport, certified birth certificate, or voter registration card and driver's license with photo. Valid passports are required for all travelers into Trinidad and Tobago.