Four years ago, we introduced our 20 Changemakers issue. This year’s Changemakers have created positive change—both in their careers and in their industries. They have elevated their roles beyond logistics to focus on the bigger picture: strategic meetings management, meeting design, ROI. Cognizant of their ability to make a difference, they have also reached beyond their four walls to influence the profession as educators, mentors, and leaders.


Leanne Acton, CMM
Assistant Vice President, Field Recognition & Conference Planning
Penn Mutual Insurance Co.

Brett Barrowman
Vice President/Director, Conference & Travel Management Services
American Fidelity Assurance

Michael Burke, CMP
Manager, Conference & Travel Services
The Hanover Insurance Group

Carrie Chamberlain
Senior Procurement Specialist–MRO Manufacturing
Coca-Cola Refreshments

Amy Harris, CMP, SMMC
VP, Strategic Meetings Management
SunTrust Bank

Susan Katz
Director, Corporate Events & Travel
True Value Co.

Gigi McGrath
Global Travel & Meetings Manager

Lisa Meehan
Director, Merck Meeting Services
Merck & Co.

Dan Meier
Director, Global Travel
Honeywell International

Karin Milliman, CMM
Strategy & Implementation Director, Meeting & Event Services

Rachel Pearson
Senior Director–Procurement & Operations, Meetings & Travel

Carolyn Pund, CMP, CMM
Senior Global Meetings & Events Manager
Cisco Systems

Kathleen Ramsay
Manager, Worldwide Travel

Patty Reger, CMM
Manager of Meetings and Conventions DePuy/Johnson & Johnson
Sales and Logistics

Sandra Schall
Global Category Manager for Hotels & MICE, OPS GPR IP Travel & Fleet
Nokia Siemens Networks

Lisa Schelle
Director, Global Meetings & Events
Nike Inc.

Lynne Schueler
Assistant Director, Supplier Relations
The Principal Financial Group

Jana Stern
Director, Conventions and Conference Planning

Jean-Paul Vanherf
Global Travel Manager
E. I. Dupont de Nemours & Co. Inc.

Chris Wall
Global Manager, Meeting Services
Johnson & Johnson

*Winners without links were unable to speak to the magazine because of their corporate press policies.

Many thanks to our 2011 Changemakers Advisory Board for their efforts: Kari Kesler, senior director, Carlson Wagonlit Travel; Mike Malinchok, president, S2K Consulting; Donna Patrick, manager, meeting solutions program, Medtronic; Debi Scholar, founder, The Scholar Consulting Group; Karen VanderPloeg, director, travel and meetings, at Daiichi Sankyo; and Todd Zint, CMP, CMM, vice president, meetings and event marketing, National Financial Partners.

You Might Also Be Interested In

2010 Changemakers

2009 Changemakers

2008 Changemakers